Better Training

I did something quite impulsive today. I signed myself up for a half marathon. One (of my 5) brothers sent me a text asking if I wanted to join he and some of our other siblings for The Middle Half. I signed up post-haste because I was bored and work and because I suffer from FOMO. I’ve been “running” since I was about 13 or so and by “running” I mean jogging. Slowly. I have certainly never run any significant distance. I once ran 7 miles on accident with my sister. We were on a trail in Chattanooga, got distracted by our riveting conversation, which I’m certain was not at all gossipy in nature, and completely missed our turn-around. That went fine. Surely now, almost 10 years later (holy shit I’m getting old), I’ll be able to run 13.1 miles. No problem.

There are 19 weeks till the run. I began looking for training programs this afternoon and was relieved to find some 12 week programs for beginners. Beginners! I’m a kind of experienced runner AND I’ve got 19 weeks to train! Piece O Cake. The training programs all seem pretty simple. Here is an example from halfmarathons.net. Every program I’ve seen suggests running, or at least doing some sort of cardio, 5 days a week. Seeing how I currently run a few times a week, sometimes, this should be totally fine. Right?